Kerry Association London

Kerry Association London

home / news / Kerry Association London

Kerry Association London

January 26, 2015

Mr. Danny Tim O’Sullivan has been selected Kerry Person of the Year for 2015 by the Kerry Association in Dublin.

The announcement was made at a reception in Iveagh House, Department of Foreign Affairs, St. Stephen’s Green, on 20 January 2015 by the Cathaoirleach of the Kerry Association in Dublin, Leesha Duffy.

Many well-known personalities were among the 100 or so who attended the function. The award, now in its thirty sixth year, has been presented to people who are making a significant contribution to their locality and Kerry as a whole, or whose achievements have reflected credit on the county.

The award will be presented to Mr. Danny Tim O’Sullivan at the Association’s annual Oiche Chiarrai which will be held at the Clyde Court Hotel, Ballsbridge on Saturday 7 March 2015.

During her tribute to Danny Tim O’Sullivan the Cathaoirleach said this award is presented in recognition of the work that Dan Tim has done for the people of Kerry and the Irish community as a whole at home and in the UK for many many years.

She said “Dan Tim has done trojan work for the poor, the sick the unemployed for many years. He does this without fuss in an unobtrusive way and without seeking acclaim for all that he has done. He is a role model for all Kerry people and indeed Irish people through his honest hard work and we are delighted to honour him for all that he has done for the people of Kerry and the Irish community at home and in the UK.”

Further queries – Maurice Moynihan, PRO, Telephone 086 0880870

Previous recipients of the Kerry Person of the Year Award

2014 - Archdeacon Michael Murphy

2013 - Luke Moriarty

2012 - Jimmy Deenihan

2011 - Crohan O'Shea

2010 - Dáithí Ó Sé

2009 - Margaret Culloty

2008 - Sean Kelly

2007 - Tadhg O'Donoghue

2006 - Jeremiah O'Donoghue

2005 - Jack O'Connor

2004 - Denis Geaney

2003 - Mick Galwey

2002 - Brian O'Mahony

2001 - Páidí Ó Sé (2001)

2000 - Dick Spring

1998 - Mick O'Connell

1997 - Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh

1996 - Sr. Consilio

1995 - Ned O'Shea

1994 - Paddy Culligan

1993 - John Curran

1992 - Fr. Pat Ahern

1991 - Brendan Kennelly

1990 - Dr. Paddy Moriarty (RIP)

1989 - John B. Keane (RIP)

1988 - Dr. Denis Brosnan

1987 - Dr. Bryan McMahon (RIP)

1986 - Mick O'Dwyer

1985 - Con Houlihan (RIP)

1984 - Pat Spillane

1983 - Eamonn Kelly (RIP)

1982 - Pat O'Connell

1981 - Pat Roche (RIP)

1980 - Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy

1979 - Dr. Michael Carmody